I don’t understand the “It stifles creativity in deckbuilding” argument. For those who don't want to watch a video, here's how the new rule works: If your commander is moving to a Public Zone: The Commander Replacement is now a State-based Action. ACTUALLY having 120 cards to get effectively 121… and if they suddenly allowed for 120 card decks then the battle of the wits players would insist on having no deck limit, Stop trying to use companion as a reason to get a no deck size matters format… if you want that then build a deck then ask your friends/playgroup/meta if you can play it from time to time… this is a social format, The rule is that “Abilities which bring other card(s) you own from outside the game into the game (such as Living Wish; Spawnsire of Ulamog; Karn, the Great Creator) do not function in Commander.”. Odds are lutri will stay banned because they’re afraid it will be the next prophet of krupix and all blue red capable decks will run it, but as a non competitive player I only found 1 deck in my 30 that I’d use it as a companion in, a Kess, dissonnent mage deck, and even then didn’t think it needed lutri. This is not correct. this is yet another move which rewards bad deck building and bad piloting, because it's basically a mini do-over with no consequences. Recently I’ve wanted to buy a Mayael Zidra deck but, Zidra pretty much getting an errata makes me iffy to buy the deck. Discord Server | Abilities which bring other card(s) you own from outside the game into the game (such as Living Wish; Spawnsire of Ulamog; Karn, the Great Creator) do not function in Commander. My personal preference would be that Companion rule does not work in Commander and an unbanning of Lutri. I don’t believe that is correct; sideboard is a subset of what ‘exists outside the game’, the only subset available in organized play, but not equivalent. Companion now works within the framework of Commander – it’s bringing itself in – and nothing else changes. This is a special action, not an activated ability. Not to be belligerent with you on this, Mr. Menery, but if everyone is confused by the “sideboard” reference then perhaps Wizards or the RC has not defined the meaning of the “shorthand”. As far as Commander goes, we find no additional changes necessary before our next regular update, scheduled on 29 June. In Commander, each player chooses a legendary creature as the commander of their deck. Except sideboards don’t exist in EDH and we have to house rule Companion… right? If your commander moves to a graveyard or exile, you get one chance to move it to the command zone. Having to pay 6 mana total to use Lutri wouldn’t change the fact that every EDH deck that is not already using a different companion and can run Lutri should absolutely 100% use Lutri as their companion (at least, in terms of “is this card worth including in my deck”) for the simple reason of starting the game with access to an additional card compared to not running a companion otherwise. Can you please clarify – it’s difficult for many to understand how companion still functions in commander. Check the Comp Rules (702.138). If you print a card that is too good, then ban it like you did with Oko. Today, via livestream, Commander Rules Committee member Toby Elliott explained that this rules change would be put into effect as of the Core 2021 rules update. No, Lutri can’t be unbanned due to ubiquity. The rules committee is following a mechanical change. When Decree of Pain destroyed 4 commanders and 2 other creatures the caster would draw 6 cards. Still mostly new to the game but based off of previous cards I’ve looked into, one being an instant that shuffles cards into the deck, you can figure out ways to balance mechanics such as: limited sideboard amount (could include Companions into the amount), color restrictions for chosen cards, part of deck count, chosen cards can only add up to a specific CMC. It’s written as “Companion—[Condition].” Before the game begins, you may reveal one card you own from outside the game with a companion ability whose condition is fulfilled by your starting deck. Cultivated Content. But it is. So the “sideboard” referred to in the companion rules isn’t really a real sideboard but simply “outside the game.” Now is that the same “outside the game” that you said DIDN’T EXIST when Karn, the Great Creator came out? No. Yep.. It was good the way it was before the change. This rule's been updated to say so. Updates and Community content. Players may cast their commander card from the command zone. Hound is removed because it ain't never caught a Rabbit. If you have a merged permanent, it could have some cards and tokens mingling. So if sideboard is shorthand for “outside of the game in a tournament setting” and WOTC has stated that the Companion is part of the sideboard, than it should only be allowed in a tournament setting, given that is the only place the mechanic can work? All in all, it's really just explaining how we've already ruled this sort of thing to work. 701.37. Azorius signet's color identity is white and blue. Come one, come all into the light of salvation, and bathe yourselves in the grace of our Saint Elenda, called the Dusk Rose. Objects only have a controller if they're on the stack or battlefield. Companions reference only themselves, while Wishes are open-ended. That’s telegraphed and slow, which is all kinds of not good with wheeling/etc. The below sets include decks that were created to be fun, powerful and ready to play. It is nice that this kind of confusion should be less frequent though because this sort of discrepancy no longer exists. Archangel Avacyn's color identity is white and red. Introduction “Sideboard” is shorthand for “outside the game in a tournament setting.” Sideboards existing is not a requirement for companions to work in any format. Commander is an exciting, unique way to play Magic that is all about awesome legendary creatures, big plays, and battling your friends in epic multiplayer games! In these cases, neither the deckbuilding restriction nor the three generic mana tax would apply. EDIT: So apparently in the video they cover the fact of "If it wasn't there the lasst time you check state based actions..." Still not great, but better than my fears confirmed. Rules Updates. Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. So a companion card “can exist outside the game in a tournament setting” and be brought into play yet “abilities that reference cards you own from outside the game do not function in commander” (rule #11 on THIS VERY SITE).